The Color of Earth

The Color of Earth

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
2
First love is never easy. Ehwa grows up helping her widowed mother run the local tavern, watching as their customers - both neighbours and strangers - look down on her mother for her single lifestyle. Their social status isolates Ehwa and her mother from the rest of the people in their quiet country village. But as she gets older and sees her mother fall in love again, Ehwa slowly begins to open up to the possibility of love in her life.In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manwha creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a trilogy about a girl coming of age, set in the vibrant, beautiful landscape of pastoral Korea.
Publisher: New York : First Second, c2009
Edition: 1st American ed
ISBN: 9781596434585
1596434589
Branch Call Number: GRAPHIC NOVEL (TEEN) (PAPER)
Characteristics: 319 p. : chiefly ill. ; 22 cm
Additional Contributors: Na, Lauren

Opinion

From Library Staff

"Ehwa grows up helping her widowed mother run the local tavern, watching as their customers - both neighbors and strangers - look down on her mother for her single lifestyle. Their social status isolates Ehwa and her mother from the rest of the people in their quiet country village. But as s... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
kwsmith
Sep 30, 2018

I was charmed by this artful tale about a young girl and her single mother growing up in rural Korea. Both the young girl and the mother slowly open their hearts to discover both the joys and pangs of true love.

n
Nakkid
Jul 07, 2014

A lyrical and delicate coming-of-age manhwa. The artwork is sometimes beautifully detailed, other times it's simplicity speaks more words than are written. Overall this is a very sweet story, and it touches certain topics in a nice and realistic manner through the perspective of a growing child. I love how differing perspectives of both a grown woman (Ehwa's mother) and a young girl (Ehwa) are shown to express different points of view to the reader. Overall this is a really cute and beautiful piece of work.

Age

Add Age Suitability
r
red_cat_7101
Nov 12, 2015

red_cat_7101 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

n
Nakkid
Jul 07, 2014

Nakkid thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at SPPL.

Try searching for The Color of Earth to see if SPPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top