The Adventurist

The Adventurist

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
At a software company in a Southern city, one lovesick, whip-smart software engineer has a crisis of confidence, in the tradition of Richard Ford and Walker Percy.In the anonymous office park of a modern software company, Henry Hurt is a man in the middle: of life, of career, of self-assessment. Mired in his corporate responsibilities, Henry's deathless office existence is torpedoed by the loss of his mother. Haunted by her death, and by a strange angst he describes as "the pall," Henry seeks escape in a quest for love and heroic purpose occasioned by a crisis in his company's fortunes. Dodging an Iago-like rival, he finds love with a colleague in his department, endangers his bond with his family, and finally confronts the urgent question of his life.The Adventurist is a story about relationships: Henry has complicated ones with his sister, his lover and a tantalizing potential girlfriend. But his relationship to his corporate and familial responsibilities ballast him, too.
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2016
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9781250062239
1250062233
Branch Call Number: FICTION Hipps, J. Bradford
Characteristics: 276 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top