Large Print - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Continuing in the exuberant tradition of Six of One, Bingo , and Loose Lips , New York Times bestselling author Rita Mae Brown returns to her much-loved fictional hamlet of Runnymede, whose memorable citizens are welcoming both the end of the Great War and the beginning of a new era. The night a riot breaks out at the Capitol Theater movie house during a Mary Pickford picture, no less you can bet that the Hunsenmeir sisters, Louise and Julia, are nearby. Known locally as Wheezie and Juts, the inimitable, irrepressible, distinctly freethinking sisters and their delightful circle of friends are coming of age in a shifting world and are determined to understand their place in it. Across town, the well-to-do Chalfonte siblings are preparing for the upcoming wedding of brother Curtis. But for youngest sister Celeste, the celebration brings about a change she never expected and a lesson about love she ll not soon forget. Set against the backdrop of America emerging from World War I, Cakewalk is an outrageous and affecting novel about a small town where ideas of sin and virtue, love and sex, men and women, politics and religion, can be as divided as the Mason-Dixon Line that runs right through it and where there s no problem that can t be cured by a good yarn and an even better scotch.
Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, 2016
Edition: Large print edition
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9781410493231
Branch Call Number: FICTION (LARGE PRINT) Brown, Rita Mae
Characteristics: 497 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
large print


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Katherine_A Nov 30, 2017

This is the first book I have read by this author. What a fun story. I loved the characters and found myself laughing out loud at Juts and her friends daring antics. I look forward to reading the other books in this series.

coroboreefarm Feb 28, 2017

Known primarily as the creator of cosy mysteries set in the undulating , rural Virginia landscape, and featuring a variety of anthropomorphic creatures including horses, cats, dogs and foxes, the prolific writer Rita Mae Brown is also the creator of another lively series chronicling life in the small southern town of Runnymede. The Runnymede series features a variety of outrageous characters who exhibit views of life, love politics and religion that can be as divided as the town is by the Mason-Dixon Line that runs right through it. Cakewalk is the latest in the Runnymede series.

Cakewalk is set in the simple, hopeful era at the end of World War I moving into the Roaring Twenties. Primarily focusing on the remarkable Hunsenmeir sisters, Louise and Juts, the book also features a perfectly drawn ensemble cast of towns people whose exploits add to the general hilarity. ALthough generally uplifting, the book also makes reference to more serious issues of the time, including Prohibition and Woman's Sufferage.

As always, Rita Mae Brown injects her own social commentary into her writing. This time she focuses on issues of female sexuality and societal expectations surrounding it.

Warm and funny, this will appeal to readers of Fannie Flagg. Although Cakewalk is part of a series, it reads perfectly as a stand alone novel.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SPPL

To Top