The Weight of Ink

The Weight of Ink

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2017
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781328915788
9780544866461
0544866460
Branch Call Number: FICTION Kadish, Rachel
Characteristics: 567 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
u
unicorn1
Jul 18, 2019

I just returned this book to the library after only getting halfway through. I was so hoping to enjoy it, but try as I may, I just could not. Maybe it was because it has been compared to A.S. Byatt's Possession, which I loved. So perhaps my expectations were too high. I don't want to discourage other reader's though as it's had good reviews and previous comments here.

s
Suellen1111
Jun 24, 2019

I liked the modern day stuff - in particular the relationship btwn the handsome younger male student & the older female prof who suffers from Parkinson's - but was lost in the wordiness of the Medieval Jewish story. I gave up in the middle; will try again later.

l
lupinway
Jan 23, 2019

Interesting read, could have used a better editor.

m
mackiecat
Jan 03, 2019

Feminism during the 1660's in London and Amsterdam, London Fire and Plague, Spanish and Portuguese Inquisition, Spinoza, Jewish theological argument and marital customs, gay rights, and an unusual romance. Present-day scholarship. What's not to love?

I couldn't put it down. If there were 10 stars, I, too, would give them to this wonderful book.

multcolib_susannel Oct 15, 2018

When a secret cache of documents is discovered in an Elizabethan era house, Professor Helen Watt and her assistant, uncover an even greater mystery. Told in alternating chapters between present-day and 17th century England.

d
debrazinik
Aug 03, 2018

One of the most beautiful books I've ever read. 10 stars! A literary cut above, exceptionally written.

k
kjgteach
Jul 28, 2018

If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would. The language is beautiful, rich and insightful, and the characters feel real. The story is complex, like a Dickens novel, and the details, the history, the philosophy are wonderfully woven in. I can say it entertained me, made me think, and opened my heart. I loved loved loved it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top