Butchers of Berlin

Butchers of Berlin

Book - 2017
Rate this:
'One of Britain's most visionary writers' DAVID PEACE

'An appalling, beautifully-lit abyss' ALAN MOORE

A dark, chilling and mesmerising thriller set in wartime Berlin, for fans of Joseph Kanon and Robert Harris.

Berlin 1943. August Schlegel lives in a world full of questions with no easy answers. Why is he being called out on a homicide case when he works in financial crimes? Why did the old Jewish solider with an Iron Cross shoot the block warden in the eye then put a bullet through his own head? Why does Schlegel persist with the case when no one cares because the Jews are all being shipped out anyway? And why should Morgen, wearing the dreaded black uniform of the SS, turn up and say he has been assigned to work with him?

Corpses, dressed with fake money, bodies flayed beyond recognition: are these routine murders committed out of rage or is someone trying to tell them something?

Praise for Chris Petit's previous novels: 'Hugely impressive and highly readab≤ in the tradition of Thomas Harris's The Silence of the Lambs' Financial Times
'Ferocious invention marks this novel out as special' The Edge
'Ambitious and intelligent' Times
'Puts Petit in the first rank' Metro
'A zigzagging narrative as byzantine and blackly pessemistic as late James Ellroy' Independent on Sunday
'An example of the genre near its best. Gorky Park with something to spare; well worth anyone's weekend' Guardian for The Psalm Killer
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : Simon & Schuster Ltd, 2017
ISBN: 9781471143434
1471143430
Branch Call Number: FICTION Petit, Chris
Characteristics: 482 pages ; 20 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at SPPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top