Watching You

Watching You

A Novel

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
"New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author and "brilliant storyteller" (Shelf Awareness, starred review) Lisa Jewell weaves another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England. It's the sort of place where doctors and lawyers and old-money academics live. It's not the sort of place where people get stabbed in the back thirty times with a kitchen knife in their own homes. Someone must have seen something. Newlywed Joey Mullen, for example, recently returned from four years working in Ibiza. She and her husband Alfie are eager to find a place of their own in her hometown. But Joey finds herself distracted by the man next door, Tom Fitzwilliam. He's the principal of the local high school, twice her age, and devastatingly attractive. What starts as an innocent infatuation soon escalates into fixation, and before long, Joey can't keep her eyes off of Tom. Or the principal's son, Freddie, who dreams of working as a spy, and has been developing his surveillance skills by keeping meticulous logs of the coming and goings in the area. And, as he approaches his fifteenth birthday, his attention--and his lens--are turning more and more towards the local women. Or perhaps single mother Frances Tripp, who has long been convinced she is being stalked. Her teenage daughter Jenna is worried these delusions are signs of her mother's deteriorating mental health, particularly now that her paranoia has found a specific target: Tom Fitzwilliam. Frances is determined to keep an eye on him until she can prove that he is behind her persecution. Twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam. Nobody knows why this horrific murder was committed, but someone in Melville Heights knows who did it. As the community's fearful eyes turn on each other, the question remains: Who else is watching?"-- Provided by publisher.
"Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England. It's the sort of place where doctors and lawyers and old-money academics live. It's not the sort of place where people get stabbed in the back thirty times with a kitchen knife in their own homes. Someone must have seen something. Newlywed Joey Mullen, for example, recently returned from four years working in Ibiza. She and her husband Alfie are eager to find a place of their own in her hometown. But Joey finds herself distracted by the man next door, Tom Fitzwilliam. He's the principal of the local high school, twice her age, and devastatingly attractive. What starts as an innocent infatuation soon escalates into fixation, and before long, Joey can't keep her eyes off of Tom. Or the principal's son, Freddie, who dreams of working as a spy, and has been developing his surveillance skills by keeping meticulous logs of the coming and goings in the area. And, as he approaches his fifteenth birthday, his attention--and his lens--are turning more and more towards the local women. Or perhaps single mother Frances Tripp, who has long been convinced she is being stalked. Her teenage daughter Jenna is worried these delusions are signs of her mother's deteriorating mental health, particularly now that her paranoia has found a specific target: Tom Fitzwilliam. Frances is determined to keep an eye on him until she can prove that he is behind her persecution. Twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam. Nobody knows why this horrific murder was committed, but someone in Melville Heights knows who did it. As the community's fearful eyes turn on each other, the question remains: Who else is watching?"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2019
Edition: First Atria books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781501190094
1501190091
9781501190070
Branch Call Number: EBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
n
nicolehatt
Apr 04, 2019

There was a lot of character development at the beginning of this book which made it hard for me to get into. I actually put it down at one point, read a different book, and then decided to give it a try again. About half way through it started to get good and then I couldn't put it down. Wouldn't be my first choice, but was a good read.

a
aliciamarie
Mar 26, 2019

Lisa Jewell is one of my favorite authors. I was so excited to be approved by Netgalley and Atria Books to be able to get my hands on this eARC! Once again Jewell did not disappoint!

This book was different from the others. It was a slow start for me and it seemed to take me awhile to actually get into it, despite the fact that from the get-go we knew a murder occurred.

This book alternates character viewpoints along with quite a few characters, so I quickly learned that reading it 15-20 minutes at a time when I had a chance was not an option. Normally I have no issues picking up where I left off in a book, but with this I was confused and had to re-read a few pages back from where I left off.

Once I found bigger chunks of time to devote to this thriller it was fun and exciting reading! The cast of characters is diverse, interesting and I think every reader can relate to one or more in the story. Over the course of the book we begin to see how all the characters relate to the murder and the wheels start turning as to who could have done it. The plot was complicated enough to keep me intrigued but not so much that it overwhelmed and confused me.

I was surprised to learn who the murder actually was! I had no clue up until the end! Once the murderer was revealed it was fun to think back on all the hints and clues that were dropped throughout the story.

This was a solid 4 stars for me. Not my favorite Jewell book, but a very good read!

Thanks to Atria Books and Netgalley for allowing me a copy to read and give my honest review.

s
squirrelee
Mar 23, 2019

I love British mysteries!! They are the best! I am really enjoying this author.

a
Adw555
Feb 08, 2019

No shortage of stalkers in this one!!

Someone has been murdered in the kitchen...but why? And who did it? To find the answer, the reader is led back in time over two months before the crime occurred. There we meet Tom Fitzwilliam, local teacher, husband, father and all around chick magnet. We also meet Joey, recently returned from Ibiza with a new husband, short of cash and bunking in with her older brother. And Freddie, Tom’s son who sees the world differently than most. Finally, there is Jenna, a fifteen year old student at Tom’s school who is not sure what to think of the handsome teacher.

As the story moves closer and closer to the day of the murder, we learn more and more about Tom, Joey, Freddie and Jenna, as well as other neighbours who live in Lower Melville/Melville Heights. One thing is sure...someone has been made to pay. Was it revenge for something done in the past? Or was it a crime of passion? With many possible suspects and victims, the answers take a while to reveal themselves...

Pros: A well plotted story with suspects aplenty. I also really liked the police transcripts from the day after the murder, slowly giving a bit more insight into what actually happened on March 24th.

Cons: One character in particular made many frustratingly bad decisions - it was hard to watch. Also, the irresistible allure of Tom was a little difficult to believe.

Super good!!

4 Stars

s
sunnyfeline
Jan 10, 2019

Author Lisa Jewell did an excellent job with keeping us guessing who might be responsible for the murder. Was it the charming school headmaster? His spying son? The infatuated neighbor? The mentally ill woman who thinks everyone is out to get her? One of the female high school students who has a crush on the headmaster? There's not so much jumping around in this book compared to some of her other books. It flows more smoothly between the short police interview transcripts from every few chapters and the story itself from different people's voices. This "whodunit" book is a must read. You will never guess who really did it until it's right in your face towards end of the story!

debwalker Dec 10, 2018

Huge buzz building for this one.

d
darladoodles
Nov 18, 2018

As many compelling psychological thrillers do, this one begins with a crime scene. Soon we observe the discovery of a red tassel and a bit later the owner of said tassel. . . and dun, dun,dun . . . we are hooked! Told from the POV of a young woman, a teenage girl and a teenage boy we view events leading up to the horrendous event alongside transcripts of police interviews done directly following. With a neighborhood that harbors so many secrets, many a plot twist is in store.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SPPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top